What exactly is High Fructose Corn Syrup? Is it bad for you? And whats the controversy?

High Fructose corn syrup is the added sweetener that is chemically similar that can be found in just about everything from muffins and cereals to carbonated drinks and juices. Just about every single person has probably ingested some food item containing H.F.C.S and I’m sure it wouldn’t take you long to find something in your fridge or cupboard that might contain High Fructose corn syrup.  Now before you start getting rid of everything in your cupboard that contains High fructose corn syrup take a minute and examine all the evidence I will provide and make your own decision. Over the course of my 2nd semester at Fleming College I will be showing/providing evidence that will hopefully prove or disprove the theory that High fructose corn syrup is bad for you.

The reason I have chosen to write about this topic is that being an athlete I like to watch what I eat and I like to know what is in the food that i consume daily. That being said High fructose corn syrup is found in a lot of foods that are on the market now a days and I would like to believe that is not bad for you and its just a alternative to sugar. It will be interesting to see the final outcome as I’m a little skeptical on just how bad it is for you.

List of some of the foods that have High Fructose Corn Syrup

http://www.celestialhealing.net/Food_contain_HFCS.htm

Leave a Reply

